You are here  Home  About ESO  History


European Stroke Organisation (ESO)

The European Stroke Organisation (ESO) is a Paneuropean society of stroke researchers, national and regional stroke societies and lay people organisations that was founded in December 2007. It was formed as a merger of two previous stroke related associations, the European Stroke Council (ESC) and the European Stroke Initiative (EUSI).

ESO has successfully continued the projects of the EUSI and ESC and introduced new activities.

At the General Assembly 2010 in Barcelona, the ESO members unanimously agreed to have the new registry office of ESO in Switzerland and to dissolve the German-based ESO within the next years.

European Stroke Initiative (EUSI)

EUSI was founded in 1997 as a joint venture of three European scientific societies devoted to neurology and stroke:

  • The European Stroke Council (ESC)
  • The European Neurological Society (ENS)
  • The European Federation of Neurological Societies (EFNS)

The first Chairman was Prof. Markku Kaste, Helsinki, Finland, who had served for 8 years. The first sponsoring companies were:

  • Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Sanofi (now: Sanofi-Aventis)
  • Glaxo Wellcome (now: GlaxoSmithKline)

What has EUSI achieved?

  • Organisation of 11 EUSI Summer Schools
  • Organisation of successful EUSI symposia at the European Stroke Conferences
  • Foundation of the Virtual Stroke UniversityTM
  • Publication of numerous stroke-related slide kits
  • Publication of the EUSI recommendations for the management of stroke (published 2000 and 2003)
  • Translations of recommendations and slide kits into up to 10 European and other languages, including Russian and Chinese
  • Publications in Cerebrovascular Diseases (2000 and 2003)
  • Several EUSI publications, including 2 editions of "Stroke Prevention for the Practitioner"
  • Creation of the highly respected EUSI website